The NHIA Board recognise the development of the next generation.

NHIA introduced in 2020 a new award called the Young Person Achiever Award.  This award is to applaud the commitment and excellence of young people 35 and under. The candidate that is chosen by the NHIA Board will receive a sponsored position towards an approved self-improvement program to the value of $2,500.00. 

Please Nominate a person for this award. Download the form here and email to the NHIA office.

History of the Recipients of the Award:


Year First Name Surname Associated Organisation
2021 Helena Carter TLG Victoria
2020 Miranda Clark Holstein Australia





NHIA is proud to have a long-standing tradition of awarding the prestigious Meritorious Service Award, which is now named the Laurie Wells Award.

This Award is to Recognise Excellence and Outstanding Service to Industry

Someone who has delivered significant Outstanding Service to the Australian Dairy Industry and more specifically, the Herd Improvement Sector.

NOTIFICATION TO MEMBERS:  Nominations are requested for the Board’s consideration.


Please Nominate a person for this award. Download the form here and email to the NHIA office.


History of the Recipients of the Award:

Year First Name


Associated Organisation
2021 John Blum  
2021 Bill Cornell  
2020 Gerard Daniel Numurkah Nu-Genes
2020 Peter Williams DataGene
2019 Rhonda Howard Cobden AB
2019 David James  
2019 Don McDonald  
2017 Pauline Brightling Harris Park Group
2016 Rob Derksen Genetics Australia
2016 Rob Richmond  
2014 Graeme Cowan Genetics Australia
2014 Frank Treasure  
2013 Shane Ashworth Total Livestock Genetics
2013 John  Harle Genetics Australia
2013 ADHIS   30th Anniversary Award
2012 Adrian Dee  
2012 Sue Gow HICO
2012 Lyn McGrath NHD
2012 Albert McIlroy Agrigene
2011 Daryl Brown 21st Century Genetics
2011 Michael Larcombe HICO
2010 Max Keir Numurkah Nu-Genes
2010 Jock McMillan  
2010 Cliff Scammell  
2009 Bernie Harford  
2009 Stewart McRae  
2009 Ken Phillips  
2008 Jim Conroy Semex
2008 Bert Dodd  
2008 Graeme Gillan ELI Innovation
2006 Rod Brasher Westside AB
2006 Howard Hodgetts Semex
2006 Ian Parkinson Bovine Inseminations
2006 Peter  Semmens World Wide Sires
2006 Cliff Scammell Yarram AB 
2006 Graham Sutherland Colac HI
2005 Jakob Malmo  
2003 Bill Bateman Western HI
2003 David Conn Yarram AB 
2002 Doug Berryman Sth Gippsland HI
2002 Doug Billing Sth Gippsland HI
2002 Alan Clyne Maffra HI Co-Op
2002 Daryl Crawford Cobden AB
2002 Geoff Davis Cobden AB
2002 Stuart Eddy Sth Gippsland AB
2002 Graeme Mabin Sth Gippsland AB
2002 Greg McGrath Sth Gippsland AB
2002 Malcolm McKenzie Sth Gippsland AB
2002 John Moscript Sth Gippsland AB
2002 Robert Noble Maffra HI Co-Op
2002 Roger Perrett Sth Gippsland AB
2002 Eric Stewart HISCOL
2002 Peter Webster Maffra HI Co-Op
2002 Ian Wise Sth Gippsland AB
2001 John Boag Sth Gippsland HI
2001 Phillip Harris Colac HI
2001 Jim Jellie Western HI
2001 Jack Scott Boorcan HTA
2001 Gordon Stewart Alta Genetics
2001 Pauline Stewart Alta Genetics
2000 Robin Albert Yarram HTA
2000 Brian Ballantyne West Gippsland HI 
2000 John Currie West Gippsland HI
2000 Gary  Green Yarram AB
2000 Albert Greenaway Yarram HTA
2000 Kenneth  May Yarram HTA
2000 Noel Myers Timboon HI
2000 Martin Moore Yarram HTA
2000 Rob Nicol Yarram HTA
2000 Peter Peterson Yarram AB
2000 Charles Puccio Yarram HTA
2000 Graham Roberts Yarram AB
2000 Ray Smith Timboon HI
2000 Mavis Wilson Yarram AB
Ken Bruhn Sth Gippsland HI
1998 Ron Chappel Nth Herd Development
1998 Ted Delaney Timboon HI Co-Op
1998 Geoff Gale Timboon HI Co-Op
1998 Malcolm McKenzie Sth Gippsland AB
1998 Bruce Morrison Nth Herd Development
1998 Stewart Peace Nth Herd Development
Murray Coverdale Western HI
Stewart Dumesny Western HI
Ray Eccles Western HI
1997 Alan Evans Colac HI
1997 Alan Mumford Yarram AB
1997 Don York West Gipps HI Co-Op
Robin Albert Yarram AB
Gary Green Yarram AB